Regional Australia Ministerial Taskforce

Senator the Hon Fiona Nash

Minister for Regional Development
Minister for Local Government and Territories
Minister for Regional Communications
Deputy Leader of The Nationals

Wednesday, 15 March 2017

Regional Australia Ministerial Taskforce

I’m so pleased to let you know the Coalition Government has a new Regional Australia Ministerial Taskforce chaired by the Prime Minister.

The Taskforce will aim to improve the lives of rural, regional and remote Australians. It will come up with ideas across portfolios including health, education, transport and infrastructure, employment, industry and communications.

A cross-portfolio taskforce is the best way to implement good regional policy across multiple portfolios and continue to invest in rural, regional and remote Australia.

The PM’s presence gives it real grunt.

I aim to help build the kinds of sustainable regional communities our children and grandchildren either want to stay in or come back to, and that means thinking well beyond the next election.

The committee includes Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull, myself as deputy chair, Deputy Prime Minister Barnaby Joyce, Health Minister Greg Hunt, Education Minister Simon Birmingham, Infrastructure and Transport Minister Darren Chester, Resources and Northern Australia Minister Matt Canavan, Industry, Innovation and Science Minister Arthur Sinodinos AO and Employment Minister Michaelia Cash. Other Ministers will be co-opted onto the Taskforce as needed.

I look forward to updating you on the Taskforce’s progress over the coming months.